Open vision bar

Special Education Department

Michael Baird

Director of Special Education

 

Overview

Special education refers to a range of educational and social services provided by the public school system and other educational institutions to individuals with disabilities who are between birth and 21 years of age. Special education is designed to ensure that students with disabilities are provided with the same academic and social emotional opportunities as their peers of  like age and grade levels in the regular education programs. 

To contact Special Education, (760) 246-8691:
Michael Baird, Director, michael_baird@aesd.net, ext 10245
Alicia Johnson, Coordinator, alicia_johnson@aesd.net, ext 10668
Regina Aguilera, Secretary, regina_aguilera@aesd.net, ext 10665

 

Getting To Know the Special Education Department Power Point: 

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1RMR8IODjILrKmRLpbpKItwGWPKn8ea_f/edit#slide=id.p1

 

Special Education Department Virtual Office During Public Closure

Hours of Operation: 7:30 am to 4:30 pm

Virtual Office (Zoom): https://aesd-net.zoom.us/j/99682673440?pwd=b1RsakpaMFhscVdYa3pzalM2VDI2dz09

 

Program Options


Least Restrictive Environment (LRE)
The least restrictive environment provides for a full range of program options to meet the educational and services requirements of individuals with exceptional needs in the LRE.
The LRE is generally the setting the most similar to those attended by the general education students.  Least Restrictive Environment (LRE) The placement of a special needs student in a manner promoting the maximum possible interaction with the general school population.

Placement options are offered on a continuum including regular classroom with no support services, regular classroom with support services (aides and/or resource specialist program), designated instruction services, special day classes, private special education programs or institutionalization or hospitalization. 

 

Individual Education Plan

INDIVIDUAL EDUCATION PROGRAM (IEP):

An individualized education program (IEP) is a written document for a student with a disability. It is developed, reviewed and revised in a meeting in accordance with Federal regulations and California Education Code. Each student that is determined to have a disability has a yearly plan called an Individual Education Plan or IEP. An IEP is developed by a team of individuals that are familiar with the student's needs including the parent/guardian.
The IEP, of which the parent/guardian is an important member, determines a student's eligibility and identifies any needed program, aids, services and instruction considered necessary for the student to progress in school and gain educational benefit. The needed program aids and services

must be provided in the LRE.

 

Special Education Program For Students With Disabilities

STUDENTS WITH MILD/MODERATE DISABILITIES:

Initial program settings for students with mild/moderate disabilities are recommended following a multi- disciplinary assessment and IEP meeting. Specialized Academic Instruction may be provided on a pullout or in-class model and is designed to assist the students in specific core subjects.  This group includes special education students in regular classrooms for more than 90% of the day; Special education students who are in the Resource Programs; and special education students in the special day class who are preforming at grade level academically.  This group also includes students who qualify for special education services with a Speech/Language Impediment only. Mild/Moderate programs are located in all schools in the district.

 

STUDENTS WITH MODERATE/SEVERE DISABILITIES:

Initial program settings for students with moderate/severe disabilities are recommended following a multi- disciplinary assessment and IEP meeting. A functional life skills curriculum and/or modified access to the core curriculum is the focus of the curriculum.   This group includes students in the Special Day Class with disabilities like autism and emotional disabilities.  Also included in this group are students who are medically fragile and need extensive supports and interventions to meet their daily special education needs. Students who are extremely medically fragile are placed in a home hospital setting based on recommendations from a doctor. 

 

NONPUBLIC SCHOOL/RESIDENTIAL: (NPS) (Certified by the State)

A student with a disability may be provided services in a nonpublic school setting that is certified by the State of California. The nonpublic school is considered a very restrictive learning environment.  This group includes students who are in Residential Placement settings for intensive theraputic and mental health supports.  

 

STATE SCHOOLS:

There are State operated schools for the deaf and hard of hearing and the visually impaired.

 

Link for AESD Special Education Handbook:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1YjTCQGhf9TQhxJrV8qq0wHkEq3ylZmbL/edit#heading=h.gjdgxs

 


Special Education Staff

 

Psychologists:

Anita Gonzalez, Anita_Gonzalez@aesd.net, ext 10661

Alejandra Roman, Alejandra_Roman@aesd.net, ext 10673

Calandra Moore, Calandra_Moore@aesd.net, ext10662

Dan Cullier, daniel_cuillier@aesd.net, ext 10658

Wendy Harris, wendy_harris@aesd.net, ext10657

Doralina Blandon, Doralina_Blandon@aesd.net, ext 10662

 

Clerks:

Veronica Duran, veronica_duran@aesd.net, ext 10650 

Teresa Espinoza, teresa_espinoza@aesd.net, ext 10664

Rebeca Medina, rebeca_medina@aesd.net, ext 10669

Adriana Rodriguez, adriana_rodriguez@aesd.net, ext 10651

Dolores Lohnes, dolores_lohnes@aesd.net, ext 10211

 

APE:

Justin Harper, justin_harper@aesd.net, ext 10674

 

COTA:

Evelyn Guerra, evelyn_guerra@aesd.net, ext 10675

 

OT:

Mary Murrah-Alexander, Mary_Alexander@aesd.net, ext 10652

 

SPED Nurse:

Lindsey Marlborough, Lindsey_Marlborough@aesd.net, ext 10670

 

Interpreter:

Jose Mora, jose_mora@aesd.net, ext 10676